The core components of the visitor experience on offer consist in: the island in and of itself; the configuration of the various facilities; a strong emphasis on environmental awareness; and the island’s bird colonies. A range of amenities have been designed and implemented to enhance this experience, including: a hybrid electricity grid, powered by solar energy and a propane generator for those grey days when sunlight is scarce; a reverse osmosis water purification system, calibrated according to the island’s requirements and having the ability to supply 11 litres of water a minute; and shower timers. In their time, lighthouse keepers collected rainwater and stored it in concrete cisterns in building basements.
The head keeper’s helper is available to provide visitors with a tour of basements so that they may familiarize themselves with various technical features.
The inn is equipped with a wine cellar in which Quebec products enjoy pride of place. The same principle holds in the case of the haute cuisine fare served on the island, with its emphasis on local food.
The head keeper’s helper uses an electric ATV to get about the island.
Internet access is available free of charge. Spotting scopes are made available to visitors, as are books and DVDs dealing with the lighthouse station, Île aux Perroquets’s flora and fauna, and 1950s-era design.
It is worth noting that several regional craftspeople contributed to the décor of the facilities.
Visitors overnighting on the island will be granted exclusive access to the lighthouse, the chicken house (main lounge area) and the exhibit in the foghorn building.
The crossing to the island takes about 30 minutes and is conducted aboard a safe, covered vessel offering protection from the sea spray. Commentary is provided en route.
Island facilities include an outdoor interpretation circuit, along with a series of rest areas featuring loungers, glider swings and picnic tables. Some of these areas are secluded so as to accommodate those guests who wish to contemplate the landscape and seascape in total peace.
The island is exposed to winds, but visitors will always be able to find appropriate shelter.
From Quebec’s St. John-the-Baptist holiday (June 23) until Labour Day (September 1), guests may also avail themselves of the interpretation activity provided by Parks Canada.
A stay designed with your comfort in mind
The main lounge area is located in the chicken house, which was built in 1952 using materials taken from the original lighthouse, erected in 1888. This same building was previously put to four different uses. It first served for raising chickens and then as a pigeon loft. It was subsequently converted into a children’s playroom before finally serving as a garage. Today it has been turned into a lovely lounge where the inn’s guests may come to relax. This area is surrounded by windows on three sides that offer fine views of Île de la Maison. A spotting scope has been set up for the enjoyment of visitors.